Wednesday, December 30, 2015

2016 Challenges Sign-ups!


    One of the ways that I'm keen to get involved in the blogging community is to participate in more blogging challenges. So I'm signing up for a bunch now, and if you know of any good ones out there that I should hit, please let me know!



    I want to read 150 books this year, so I'm in again on 50 Book Pledge. My profile is here.

    This one is year long.


    2. 2016 New Release Challenge   
    New-Release-Challenge2016-450x450
    This one is about reviewing books released in 2016. I'm going to be aiming for New Release Enthusiast (45+).  My goal for reviewing is about 104 through the year, so 45+ from 2016 alone should be quite do-able.

    Another year long challenge.




    3. Mount TBR Reading Challenge 2016

    My goal for this one is Mt Ararat, which is 48 books from my TBR pile (i.e. books purchased/received prior to 2016). I have a huge back list and I really need to cut it down to size. So I'm aiming for four books a month from my TBR pile.

    Another year long challenge!


    and our new co-host Books, Movies, Reviews! Oh My!

    4. COYER

    So COYER runs from December 19th to March 4th. It's all about reading the freebies or nearly free books. I have a lot of Kindle freebies. So many. Plus review books. I'll aim for four of these that will double as my Mount TBR pile, and four from my review stacks.

    This is a first quarter challenge!

    2016HWLogo5. 2016 Reading Assignment Challenge 

    This is for the whole year. I'm going for reading level 2 - 2 books per month. This challenge asks you to make a list of all the books you are committing to read, and then check them off on a monthly basis.

    My list is the following:

    1. Miss Mayhem by Rachel Hawkins
    2. Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas
    3. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
    4. I am Princess X by Cherie Priest
    5. Manners & Mutiny by Gail Carriger
    6. Frost Burned by Patricia Briggs
    7. The Madman's Daughter by Megan Shepherd
    8. The Collector by Victoria Scott
    9. Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen
    10. The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch
    11. Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine
    12. Reap the Wind by Karen Chance
    13. Halfway to the Grave by Jeaniene Frost
    14. Magic Lost, Trouble Found by Lisa Shearin
    15. Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch
    16. The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson
    17. Reckless by Cornelia Funke
    18. Shooting Scars by Karina Halle
    19. Outcast by Cheryl Brooks
    20. North Pole Reform School by Jaimie Admans
    21. The Duchess War by Courtney Milan
    22. Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter
    23. Three by Jay Posey
    24. Indexing by Seanan McGuire

    BookishResolution Challenge 20166. 2016 Bookish Resolutions Challenge

    This challenge is the biggie. This challenge is basically a to do list to accomplish over the year. The requirements are basically, choose at least two of Reading/Personal/Blogging and insert two-three sub-goals for each. But I'm going to go above and beyond! 

    Reading Goals:

    - get my Netgalley percentage up to 90% and keep it there (I'm at 84% currently)
    - read 150 books this year
    - read 1 book from Goodreads' Choice awards per month (doesn't have to be a winner)
    - create a prioritized TBR list 

    Personal Goals:

    - lose 35 lbs
    - deep clean/declutter/organize all rooms of my house (counting them as 26 - including closets, stairwell, kitchen as 2, living room as 2, library as 2 and rec room as 2 due to split functions, so roughly 2 per month)
    - write 500 words, 5 days a week, 48 weeks of the year.
    - keep an up-to-date wall calendar so my husband has a reference point for family activities.
    - duolingo 5 days a week, 48 weeks of the year (rotate languages if need be).

    Blogging Goals:

    - post 2 blog posts per week, minimum
    - by the end of February, have created a buffer of 3 weeks on reviews 
    - maintain my goodreads/amazon/50 reads accounts with reviews and read books as I read through 2016
    - catch up on all outstanding goodreads/amazon reviews from 2015
    - set dates for two themed weeks this year (all fairy tale updates or debut authors or YA-science fiction or something or specific publisher week). I'm already thinking I'll do a week of the different Harlequin lines leading up to Valentine's Day.
    - tidy up tags
    - make indices by rating, author, genre, year reviewed for past reviews, and create a spreedsheet to track, including publisher information

    2016 Resolutions

    Hello!

    It's me!
    I'm here!

    I know it's been a while.

    I've been checking in periodically since the start of November, usually with blog tours that I committed to in October, but otherwise it's been ages.

    So, to be perfectly honest, I got caught up in Nanowrimo (success), and then in editing a couple of projects (finished now), and then in the Christmas holidays. 

    I also got burned out with some generic reviews I should have written and posted, and couldn't seem to motivate myself to do. I made that mistake of reading four or five books really quickly, and not reviewing any of them right away. 

    Next to getting stuck trying to read a bad book, that's my blogging kryptonite. Backlogs are a problem for me.

    So!

    Moving forward, here's my pledge to you for 2016:

    Two reviews per week. Loosely, I expect Tuesday/Thursday to be my posting schedule on these. 

    I may do more, but I'm aiming to always do Tuesday/Thursday.  

    I'm going to do a mix of books that are going to be released, and books that were released in 2015 that I have ARCs of and haven't gotten to reviewing. No book left behind. That is my policy!

    Things I would like to do?

    • More challenges. I've got a list to sign up for - COYER, the Mount TBR reading challenge, Bookish Resolutions. I'm kind of attracted to the Reading Assignment challenge as well (and it would mesh well with COYER and Mount TBR). Are there other challenges out there that I need to know about?
    • Two themed weeks. I loved doing Cinderella stories in the spring and Christmas in October last year. I'll be keeping my eyes peeled for a good time to run a themed week 
    • More non-review posts. Sunday updates, Top Ten Tuesdays, Book Rants, whatever. Are there regular memes out there I should check out?  Let me know! I want to get more involved!
    • Writing updates. I'm focusing on my own writing this year (instead of on editing), and so I may occasionally check-in with how that's going.
    • Updating my site with a listing of reviews done by year, by genre, by rating, by author. I want to create some lovely indices that will make browsing previous reviews much easier.
    • Cleaning up my post tags because ZOMG they're useless for users of the site right now.
    Comment below with challenges I should check out, books I should be reading in 2016, things you'd like to see on my site, what you have planned for yours (or links to your posts about 2016 plans!)

    Come back shortly for my 2016 Challenges post!


    Wednesday, December 9, 2015

    Blog Tour: Coming Apart at the Seams by Jenna Sutton

    Hey folks!  Long time, no see!

    It's been a very hectic six weeks for me, and with the incoming holidays, I'm not seeing signs of a slowdown any time soon.

    That said, I have a backlist of reviews that I'm hoping to get to beginning next week, and finishing through January.



    Now, with that out of the way, today I am delighted to be hosting a tour stop for the wonderful Coming Apart at the Seams, the second book in Jenna Sutton's Riley O'Brien & Co series. Released by Berkley on December 1st, this book takes us back to the O'Brien family, this time to address Teagan's love life (or lack thereof). 


    Check out the other stops on the tour at Tasty Book Tours.

    Wednesday, November 18, 2015

    Blog Tour: Inconceivable! by Tegan Wren





    Today, let's talk about Tegan Wren's Inconceivable! This book was published Curiosity Quills on November 16th, and I have to say that I love, love, love its cover. I think it's adorable. And the silhouettes appear in the book at the beginning of each chapter, which is also pretty darn adorable. I'm hosting a tour stop today, so stick around for an excerpt and giveaway!

    Check out the other stops on the tour at Tasty Book Tours.

    Thursday, November 12, 2015

    Blog Tour: Food Whore by Jessica Tom




    Today, I'm happy to be hosting a stop for Food Whore: A Novel of Dining and Deceit by Jessica Tom. This debut published by William Morrow is to the New York dining scene what The Devil Wears Prada was for the fashion scene. It demands a visceral response, both with some really vivid, sensual discussion of food and fashion, but also because of main character Tia's efforts to figure out her post-university life.

    Check out the other stops on the tour at Tasty Book Tours.

    Monday, November 9, 2015

    Blog Tour: The Fading Dusk by Melissa Giorgio



    Today, I'm happy to be hosting a stop for The Fading Dusk by Melissa Giorgio. This is the debut book in the Smoke and Mirrors series, a fantasy YA series with a cover I love, and a blurb that had me hooked!

    Check out the other stops on the tour at Xpresso Book Tours.

    Wednesday, November 4, 2015

    Two Books, Not Much Love

    Today I want to talk about two books. They've got some common themes, beyond the obvious as they're both contemporary romance. One features two cops, one undercover, and is a second chance at love story. The other takes an undercover cop, has him escape jail, and kidnap the woman who becomes his love interest.

    They both have the undercover cop looking like she or he has broken the law, and asking the love interest to have faith.

    Neither of them, ultimately, really worked for me. Let's take a look at why.

    Tuesday, October 27, 2015

    Blog Tour: Best Worst Mistake by Lia Riley


    Today, I'm happy to be hosting a stop for Best Worst Mistake by Lia Riley. This is the third book in her Brightwater series, published by Avon Impulse. I enjoyed this contemporary romance novel, in no small part because it starts off in the perfect spot!

    Check out the other stops on the tour at Tasty Book Tours.

    Monday, October 26, 2015

    Wild Ride by Cathryn Fox

    The Basics:
    Wild Ride by Cathryn Fox
    Entangled: Brazen
    Book Two in the Playing for Keeps series
    Novella, erotic romance, contemporary romance
    Published October 19, 2015
    Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    Amazon Kobo Goodreads

    Why I picked up this book:

    In a completely shallow way, it was the cover. I love a good cowboy romance.

    Friday, October 23, 2015

    Duchess Decandence by Wendy LaCapra

    The Basics:
    Duchess Decandence by Wendy LaCapra
    Entangled: Scandalous
    Book Three in the Furies series
    Historical Romance
    Published October 19, 2015
    Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    Amazon Kobo Goodreads

    Why I picked up this book:

    I was intrigued by the cover, which didn't seem, ah, typical for historical romance.

    Wednesday, October 21, 2015

    Say You'll Love Me by Ally Broadfield

    The Basics:
    Say You'll Love Me by Ally Broadfield
    Entangled: Scandalous
    Historical Romance
    Published October 19, 2015
    Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    Amazon Kobo Goodreads

    Why I picked up this book:

    I like historical romance, and I've been reading mostly contemporary lately! Time for a change...

    Monday, October 19, 2015

    Slashed by Tracy Wolff

    The Basics:
    Slashed by Tracy Wolff
    Flirt
    Contemporary Romance
    Book Three in the Extreme Risk series
    Published September 29, 2015
    Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    Amazon Kobo Goodreads

    Why I picked up this book:

    I loved the first two. Of course I came back for the third!

    Sunday, October 18, 2015

    Sunday Update, October 2015

    Every now and again, I get my act together enough to put up a Sunday post!

    I'm hooking into: 



    This is a meme hosted by the Caffeinated Book Reviewer wherein everyone gets to share their news for the week. It's a great opportunity to see what's happening out there in the blogosphere, so go check out some other Sunday Posters!

    Today's post is going to have a few sections:

    1. General Update

    2. Christmas in October Wrap-up

    3. DNFs

    4. Currently...

    5. Goals for Last Quarter


    Friday, October 16, 2015

    Christmas in October: Guest Post by Justin Bog

    Christmas in October continues today with this guest post from author Justin Bog!

    Hi Chelsea,

    Thank you for sharing the holiday spirit early, and giving me a spot in your Christmas in October series. I love writing holiday stories, mainly of the Christmas variety. Often, setting short stories during the holidays heightens subtext: anxiety, gratitude, making the holiday cheer mean something more!

    Christmas in October: A Bad Boy for Christmas by Jessica Lemmon

    Happy Christmas in October!

    This is my last Christmas in October book review! It's been great fun reading this set of five Christmas-themed books, I have to say. I'm a huge fan of the holiday, and while I also quite enjoy Halloween (and books that might be considered Halloween-y), there's just something about Christmas books that I find particularly delightful. 

    Please, tell me about your favourite Christmas-themed books in the comments!

    The Book:

    Basics

    A Bad Boy for Christmas by Jessica Lemmon
    Forever
    Book 3 in the Second Chance series
    Contemporary Romance
    Published September 29, 2015
    Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    Amazon Kobo Goodreads

    Thursday, October 15, 2015

    Book Tour, Xmas in October: The Great Christmas Knit-off by Alexandra Brown

    Happy Christmas in October!

    Christmas in October continues today with this blog tour stop!


    Today I'm hosting a tour stop for Alexandra Brown's The Great Christmas Knit-Off. Published by Harper Collins, this is contemporary women's fiction, set in England with a slight Brit chick lit feel. I love this cover!

    Check out the other stops on the tour at Tasty Book Tours.

    Wednesday, October 14, 2015

    Blog Tour, Christmas in October: Snowbound at Christmas by Debbie Mason

    Happy Christmas in October!

    Christmas in October continues today with this blog tour stop!


    Today I'm hosting a tour stop for Debbie Mason's Snowbound at Christmas. This is the fifth book in the Christmas Colorado series, from Forever. The cover and title made it an easy selection for Christmas in October! 

    Check out the other stops on the tour at Tasty Book Tours.

    Tuesday, October 13, 2015

    Christmas in October: A Cowboy Firefighter for Christmas by Kim Redford

    Happy Christmas in October!

    Each day this week, I'm reviewing a Christmas-themed book, reviewing how well the book embraces the holiday as well as giving my two cents on the book as a whole. Please join me in celebrating the holiday a wee bit early and post your holiday book reviews and recommendations in the comments of any of this week's reviews!

    As a bonus this year, I've got some fantastic guest posts! So check back for those as well!

    The Book:

    Basics

    A Cowboy Firefighter for Christmas by Kim Redford
    Sourcebooks Casablanca
    Book 1 in the Smokin Hot Cowboys series
    Contemporary Romance
    Published October 6, 2015
    Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    Amazon Kobo Goodreads

    Monday, October 12, 2015

    Christmas in October: Guest Post by Toni Allen

    Christmas in October continues with this lovely guest post from author Toni Allen!

    A Single Author’s Christmas with Toni Allen

    Everyone celebrates Christmas in a different way. Each family is a different size, a different mix of male and female, young and old. I have a very small family, consisting of just one person, me: but that doesn’t stop me from celebrating Christmas and having a huge amount of fun.

    Christmas in October: The Christmas Cottage by Samantha Chase

    Happy Christmas in October!

    Each day this week, I will be reviewing a Christmas-themed book, reviewing how well the book embraces the holiday as well as giving my two cents on the book as a whole. Please join me in celebrating the holiday a wee bit early and post your holiday book reviews and recommendations in the comments of any of this week's reviews!

    As a bonus this year, I've got some fantastic guest posts! So check back for those as well!

    The Book:


    Basics


    The Christmas Cottage / Ever After by Samantha Chase
    Sourcebooks Casablanca
    Contemporary Romance
    REPublished October 6, 2015
    Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    Amazon Kobo Goodreads

    Friday, October 9, 2015

    The Storm by Virgina Bergin

    The Basics:
    The Storm by Virginia Bergin
    Sourcebooks Fire
    YA, Science Fiction
    Published October 6, 2015
    Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    Amazon Goodreads 

    Why I picked up this book:

    The first book in this series was, quite possibly, my favourite read of the year.


    Monday, October 5, 2015

    Quick Reviews: Contemporary Romance Trifecta!

    Today you're going to get three reviews for the price of one. And since around here, one review is free... yup! That's value for you, folks!

    All three are contemporary romances I enjoyed for various reasons. We've got celebrities, bartenders, and MMA legends today...


    Saturday, October 3, 2015

    Blog Tour: Alice Takes Back Wonderland by David Hammons



    Today I want to introduce you to Alice Takes Back Wonderland by David Hammons. This is a fairy-tale mash-up that's getting some really fantastic reviews over on Goodreads and Amazon.

    I have to confess that I haven't read all the way through this one--work sometimes intrudes on my precious reading time--but I'm really looking forward to it. The first couple chapters are quite compelling! 

    Friday, October 2, 2015

    Blog Tour: Born of Treasure by Jordan Elizabeth



    Today I want to discuss Jordan Elizabeth's western steampunk sequel, Born of Treasure. Released September 21st by Curiosity Quills Press, this book is the sequel to Treasure, Darkly. Featuring a young man with the recently attained ability to bring the dead back to life, and to communicate with ghosts, Born of Treasure is quite entertaining!

    Come back tomorrow for my last review on the Curiosity Quills Press September Releases Review Tour!

    Wednesday, September 30, 2015

    Blog Tour: Hour of Mischief by Aimee Hyndman


    Released on September 7th, 2015, by Curiosity Quills Press, Hour of Mischief by Aimee Hyndman is a fascinating action-filled, clockwork-fantasy adventure. I was drawn in by the lovely cover by Amy Chitulescu and I hung around because this is exactly the kind of book I have come to love Curiosity Quills for publishing. The aesthetic is sublime, but above and beyond that, this is a smart-assed, action-adventure story that reminds me in tone of the Indiana Jones movies--a fast enough, high-stakes plot to keep things rolling, but enough humour to keep me engaged, and make me want to come back to re-read.

    I'll be participating in an additional two stops on Curiosity Quills' September Releases Review Tour - come back on October 2nd and 3rd for those reviews!


    Blog Tour: Nowhere to Hide by Lindsay McKenna



    First up today is this lovely tour stop for Lindsay McKenna's Nowhere to Hide. This is the first book in her Delos series, published by Blue Turtle Publishing. This is a romantic suspense novel that ties back into some of McKenna's previous series, so if you're a fan already, you're in for a real treat!

    Check out the other stops on the tour at Tasty Book Tours.

    Monday, September 28, 2015

    Dance With the Devil by Angela Dennis

    The Basics:
    Dance With the Devil by Angela Dennis
    Samhain Publishing
    Book One in the Soul's Harbor Pride series
    Romance, Paranormal
    Published September 22, 2015
    Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    Amazon Goodreads Kobo

    Why I picked up this book:

    I like a good paranormal romance. I haven't read lion shifters lately, and was intrigued. Curran from the Ilona Andrews series comes to mind, but I haven't read that series in far too long!



    Friday, September 25, 2015

    500th Blog Post




    Yes, this is the 500th blog post here at To Each Their Own Reviews. We also just crossed the 30K page views mark (according to Blogger, so grain of salt), and October 7th is our two year anniversary! 

    When I started book blogging two years ago, I didn't really think about where it was going, how long I'd stay at it. 
    I've read so many books - so many amazing books that if I wasn't book blogging, I never would have been exposed to, I think. 

    I've bought so many books that I wouldn't have, if not for the blogging.

    I am so pleased that I took the plunge! There's an amazing community of book bloggers out there. I have blogs I visit frequently, that make me smile on the rough days, that lure me into buying more books on... well... days. Any day, really, is a good day to buy a book. Even though I don't really participate as much in the community as others do, I do *love* you guys. So thank you for being out there, and thank you for checking my blog now and again.

    Heading through the end of the year, I'm anticipating many book reviews. I've got a DNF post coming up next week. I think I'll be reviewing some novel-writing books in November (during NaNoWriMo, which I'm doing for the 14th time this year!). 

    And of course, there's this...

    Today I also want to announce that I'm doing Christmas in October again. Check out my attempt* at a button:


    *Yeah. My sisters got the visual design skills. Whatever.

    From October 12th until October 16th I will be reading and reviewing Christmas-themed books. Why? Because I can! Because publishers are publishing these books now!

    I've got about six romances lined up for the week, and I'm accepting guest posts from authors who want to post something fluffy and pro-Christmas (a top 5 list, a reflection a family tradition, a Christmas recipe). You can contact me via email or in comments.

    My reviews will be two-parters--first part, normal review content. Second part? A rating for how Christmas-y the book is. Gift-giving, carolling, cookie-baking, Christmas movie-watching, Christmas mornings, tree decorating and so much more will be considered while I calculate my very serious rating assignments!

    And... yeah. That's all I've got for now. Cheers everyone! Thanks for sticking it out with me for 500 posts and beyond!



    Thursday, September 24, 2015

    Blog Tour: A Little Thing Called Love by Cathy Maxwell



    Today I'm thrilled to be hosting a tour stop for Cathy Maxwell's A Little Thing Called Love. This novella kicks off the "Marrying the Duke" series, from Avon Impulse, and it's definitely does the job of setting the stage. I'm a fan of historical romance, and I love getting in at the start of a series, particularly when book one is due out later this year!

    Check out the other stops on the tour at Tasty Book Tours.

    Tuesday, September 22, 2015

    The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow

    The Basics:
    The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow
    Margaret K McElderry Books
    YA, Science Fiction
    Book One in the Prisoners of War series
    Published September 22, 2015
    Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    Amazon Kobo Goodreads

    Why I picked up this book:

    I got the feeling this book could be the next 'big thing' and I wanted in on the ground floor. So, good job hype!



    Monday, September 21, 2015

    Hell or High Water by Julie Ann Walker

    The Basics:
    Hell or High Water by Julie Ann Walker
    Sourcebooks Casablanca
    Romantic Suspense
    Book One in the Deep Six series
    Published July 7, 2015
    Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    Amazon Kobo Goodreads

    Why I picked up this book:

    I enjoyed the first one and wanted to know where the story would go next.


    Friday, September 18, 2015

    Blog Tour: Clockwork Menagerie by Karen Kincy



    Released on September 1st, 2015, by Curiosity Quills Press, Clockwork Menagerie by Karen Kincy is a novella in the Shadows of Asphodel series. This one plugs into the series at #2.5. I've read the first book, and I Kickstartered the second, when they were being self-published. I haven't actually read book two yet though! Call this one "Historical-fantasy romance" (the publisher does). It's got that dieselpunk aesthetic with a big dash of romance and magic to liven things up.

    I'm really happy to be hosting a stop on this novella's blog tour.

    Thursday, September 17, 2015

    The Ciphers of Muirwood by Jeff Wheeler

    The Basics:
    The Ciphers of Muirwood by Jeff Wheeler
    47North
    YA, Fantasy
    Published September 15, 2015
    Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    Amazon Goodreads 

    Why I picked up this book:

    I enjoyed the first one and wanted to know where the story would go next.


    Wednesday, September 16, 2015

    Finding Perfect by Kendra C Highley

    The Basics:
    Finding Perfect by Kendra C Highley
    Entangled Crush
    YA
    Published September 14, 2015
    Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    Amazon Kobo Goodreads 

    Why I picked up this book:

    The blurb hits so many of my sweet spots for contemporary romance...

    Tuesday, September 15, 2015

    Her Unexpected Detour by Kyra Jacobs

    The Basics:
    Her Unexpected Detour by Kyra Jacobs
    Entangled Bliss
    Contemporary Romance
    Book 1 in the Checkerberry Inn series
    Published September 14, 2015
    Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    Amazon Kobo Goodreads 

    Why I picked up this book:

    I'd just visited a lovely inn in Southern Ontario when I picked this book up. That inn connection was a huge pull. (I really want to go back on vacation--so relaxing)

    Sunday, September 13, 2015

    Ten Things Sloane Hates About Tru by Tera Lynn Childs

    The Basics:
    Ten Things Sloane Hates About Tru by Tera Lynn Childs
    Entangled Crush
    YA
    Book 1 in the Creative HeArts series
    Published September 14, 2015
    Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    Amazon Kobo Goodreads 

    Why I picked up this book:

    I was looking for some good YA to read.

    Saturday, September 12, 2015

    His Lover to Protect by Katee Robert

    The Basics:
    His Lover to Protect by Katee Robert
    Entangled Brazen
    Contemporary Romance
    Book 3 in the Out of Uniform series
    Published September 9, 2015
    Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    Amazon Kobo Goodreads 

    Why I picked up this book:

    I was intrigued by the blurb, as I so often am.

    Thursday, September 10, 2015

    Wilde at Heart by Tonya Burrows


    The Basics:
    Wilde at Heart by Tonya Burrows
    Entangled Ignite
    Romantic Suspense
    Book 3 in the Wilde Security series
    Published September 9, 2015
    Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    Amazon Kobo Goodreads 

    Why I picked up this book:

    I loved the blurb for this one. It made me snicker.

    Wednesday, September 9, 2015

    Chasing Mr. Wrong by Joya Ryan

    The Basics:
    Chasing Mr. Wrong by Joya Ryan
    Entangled: Brazen
    Contemporary Romance
    Book 4 in the Chasing Love series
    Published September 9, 2015
    Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    Amazon Kobo Goodreads 

    Why I picked up this book:

    Look at that cover! This one looks steamy, the blurb made it sound steamy, and that sounded pretty darn good to me.

    Tuesday, September 8, 2015

    Into My Arms by Lia Riley

    The Basics:
    Into My Arms by Lia Riley
    Forever Yours
    New Adult, Romance
    An Off the Map novella
    Published September 8, 2015
    Source: Received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    Amazon Kobo Goodreads 

    Why I picked up this book:

    I really enjoyed the Off the Map series, and really wanted to know how the secondary characters fared in love. Also, apparently I missed the first novella, which I will go correct shortly.

    Monday, September 7, 2015

    Cover Reveal: Compromising Her Position

    I'm thrilled to be participating in the cover reveal of Samanthe Beck's upcoming book, Compromising Her Position.

    Releasing November 16th from Entangled Publishing, let me give you a tease with the blurb:

    When Chelsea Wayne drags Santa into a supply closet for a little office party nookie, she assumes the man in the suit is her on-again/off-again coworker boyfriend. Instead, it’s Rafe St. Sebastian, a man known for his hard-driving ways in business as well as the bedroom—and, kill her now, the brand spanking new owner of Las Ventanas—who grants her naughtiest Christmas wishes.

      So much for her reputation, not to mention her career.

      Rafe needs to close three acquisitions to prove to his father he’s ready to take the helm of St. Sebastian Enterprises. A hot interlude in a supply closet after deal number two seems like the perfect illicit Christmas bonus. Unfortunately, when that “bonus” becomes the key to the final deal, he finds himself back in bed—so to speak—with Chelsea, and after their steamy tryst, he’s not interested in keeping things professional…

    Sounds steamy, right?  Take a look at this cover...

    Friday, September 4, 2015

    Three Quick Reviews

    From time to time, I binge-read books that I also need to review. And then I don't have a ton of thoughts to share about them. In the case of today's trio of books, I was a little on the fence about each of them, for different reasons. I'll try to explain why, and then you can tell me why I should love them. 

    Today we're looking at a pair of very different historical romances, and a contemporary romantic suspence.

    Romance is in the air! 

    Thursday, September 3, 2015

    Cover Reveal: Falling for Her Enemy by Victoria James

    Today's cover reveal is for Victoria James' upcoming release, Falling for Her Enemy, that releases on November 9, 2015. I apologize for trying to hook you on a book that you'll have to wait two months to buy. This is how my wishlists and Amazon cart end up so cluttered...
    First! Let me tantalize you with this blurb:
    She’s falling for the one man who could destroy everything… 

    Alex McAllister always dreamed of a life filled with the laughter and love of a family, but being abandoned at a young age left her wary of letting anyone in. Now that she’s settled in Still Harbor, Alex struggles between keeping her distance and the magnetic pull of the handsome stranger who claims he’s the biological father of her adopted daughter.

     Hayden Brooks never wanted to be a father. Long hours spent building his family’s real estate empire suits him just fine. But when he discovers an ex put the baby he unknowingly fathered up for adoption, his world crumbles. He tracks the child to Still Harbor with the intention of bringing her home—and comes face to face with his daughter’s stunning adoptive mother.
     The paternity test is in. And Hayden’s about to make the most shocking decision of his life, just in time for Christmas…
    Drum roll, please! Let's check out the cover . . .