Tuesday, March 29, 2016

Blog Tour: Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery by Jenny Colgan

Today, I'm whisking you away to a Cornish island. Okay, maybe I'm not doing that, but the lovely Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery will take you there. Written by Jenny Colgan and published by William Morrow, this is the second book set on Little Beach Street, and I think you'll find it's a lovely place, well worth a second visit!

Check out the other stops on the tour at Tasty Book Tours.

The Book

The New York Times-bestselling author of Little Beach Street Bakery and Christmas at the Cupcake Café returns with a delightful new novel-with recipes!-that is already an international bestseller and is perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Meg Donohue, and Sophie Kinsella.

For fans of Jojo Moyes and Elin Hilderbrand, an irresistible novel—moving and funny, soulful and sweet—about happiness, heartache, and hope. And recipes.

A thriving bakery. A lighthouse to call home. A handsome beekeeper. A pet puffin. These are the things that Polly Waterford can call her own. This is the beautiful life she leads on a tiny island off the southern coast of England.

But clouds are gathering on the horizon. A stranger threatens to ruin Polly’s business. Her beloved boyfriend seems to be leading a secret life. And the arrival of a newcomer—a bereft widow desperately searching for a fresh start—forces Polly to reconsider the choices she’s made, even as she tries to help her new friend through grief.

Unpredictable and unforgettable, this delightful novel will make you laugh, cry, and long for a lighthouse of your own. Recipes included.

Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery
is available now!

Goodreads | Goodreads Series

Q&A with Author

Jenny, congratulations on the release of SUMMER AT LITTLE BEACH STREET Bakery.  

Tell us the truth, how much fun is the research?

Oh I just love bread so much. I am terrible. If I’m making, eg, cheese rolls it’s hard to actually get them to the table, instead of just eating them straight out of the oven.

What is your favorite part of the writing process?  Exploring new story lines?  Getting to know the characters more in depth?

I love the big bits everyone loves- the first meeting, the first kiss, the deaths! All the big dramatic scenes are fun. If I manage to get a bit of a tear jerker in I’m delighted. 

Do you have a character that is most like you, and how?

Oh yes, but from way back really; probably Holly in Talking to Addison. Her life is a lot like mine was then in my twenties. These days all my characters are much more capable and calmer than I am! I generally favour the ‘headless chicken’ approach to life. 

Do you have a favorite scene from SUMMER AT LITTLE BEACH STREET?

Anything with Neil in it. 

Do you have a favorite recipe or go-to comfort dessert?

I do love a lemon cake. I like it far too lemon-y, far more than anyone else likes . 

What are you working on now?

I am writing Christmas at Little Beach Street Bakery, and a new children’s story for Neil!

Thank you for chatting with us!

My Review

I bought and read the first book in the Little Beach Street series so I could feel prepared for Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery. I really loved the first book, and this one lived up to my expectations for it.

It's breezy fun, great for a spring day, and it had me wanting to go on holiday. The landscape is such an important character, in its own right, that I wanted to drive somewhere equally lovely.

There's some depth to this book, but even more so than the first book, I felt Summer leaned toward chick lit. There are definitely some serious moments, but overall, I think this is a more entertaining book than thought-provoking one (if you don't mind me drawing the chick lit/women's fiction line on that ground...).  

All the familiar characters are back, with a few new and even quirkier ones to fill out the cast. Some of them lacked a little dimension beyond their eccentricities or assigned traits, but I think that actually worked okay in this particular book. I was kind of propelled along from one crazy event to the next, without needing to really dwell on any of it.

The interjections of therapy sessions for one of the secondary characters, Selina, were a new element, compared to first book. They definitely added a needed dimension, a bit of seriousness, but it was a bit odd given that Polly and Huckle were the main point-of-view characters. Possibly a sign that the series will transition to Selina in future? 

I'd be quite happy to return to Little Beach Street in the future!

Bottom Line

Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery was a very entertaining read. It makes for a great spring-summer read, and it had me wanting to try my hand at bread-baking. Absolutely enjoyable! 

4.5 stars
For fans of that cusp between chick lit and women's fiction, quirky characters, baking

About the Author

Jenny Colgan is the New York Times-bestselling author of numerous novels, including Christmas at the Cupcake Café, Little Beach Street Bakery, and Meet Me at the Cupcake Café, all international bestsellers. Jenny is married with three children and lives in London and Scotland.

1 comment:

  1. Thank you so much for featuring SUMMER AT LITTLE BEACH STREET BAKERY!